Be One With Your Bike

IMG_20141006_153039_edited

Bicycles are awesome. Seriously. Look at it. Tell me it’s not beautiful. They are amazing inventions and they can have a huge impact on your energy use and personal fitness. It is a win-win. I picked up a 1989 Schwinn World Tour bike (above) for $100 about 2 years ago and it has been absolutely incredible. I ride everywhere that is within about a 5 mile radius of my home. It has already payed for itself in gas. I ride it to the bus stop, take it on the bus, and then ride it where ever I am going when I get off. I bungee a milk crate on the back and ride it to pick up light loads of groceries. I just love it so much. And, bikes don’t have to be used just during the day, throw a good front light and back blinker on there and you are set for night riding – please, do be careful though. Biking is great for you too. At first, a mile or two can be exhausting, but before you know it, you don’t think twice about a 3, 4, or 5 mile trip and just breeze through it.

The best part of all is that using my bike for local errands instead of my car saves a ton on gas. We sometimes forget that the start up, stop and go, short errands are the most gas inefficient rides. They add up quick! Since starting to use my bike, I have significantly cut down the amount I need to use a car. I had a wonderful moment where I needed my car the other day, went to get in, and realized I had not used it in 2 weeks! What a great feeling. Biking whenever possible is a great way to cut down your fossil fuel reliance, an important step towards a more sustainable life.

Follow your bliss. Love and be loved. You are an amazing person and even if we can’t all change the world, it doesn’t mean we can not all change ourselves. Be the change you want and be proud of what you do! Happy Tuesday everyone.

Leave a Reply

